Press release

Heritage Fund - the Community Foundation of Bartholomew County is pleased to announce Hauser Junior-Senior High School senior Grace Hasler and Columbus East High School senior Madelyn Rhodes are recipients of the 2018 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships for Bartholomew County.

The program - sponsored by Lilly Endowment, managed by Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. and administered locally by Heritage Fund - is in its 21st season of awarding scholarships to Indiana students to pursue four years of undergraduate study on a full-time basis that lead to a baccalaureate degree at an accredited public or private nonprofit college or university in Indiana. Hasler and Rhodes will receive full tuition for four years to the Indiana college of their choice and a $900 annual stipend for required books and equipment.

Hasler, daughter of Michael and Dena Hasler, has been active in National High School Rodeo Association (national student secretary; office; finals qualifier; Equine Athlete of the Year); Indiana High School Rodeo Association (All-Around Cowgirl; champion; reserve champion; American Quarter Horse Association Horse of the Year); FFA (president; student adviser; volunteer); Hauser Varsity Women's Track (captain; Academic All State; Republic All-Area Team; regional qualifier; record holder; conference champion); Hauser Varsity Women's Basketball (captain; conference champion); Students Against Destructive Decisions (class representative); and Student Council (treasurer). Hasler plans to study agricultural sales and marketing/agricultural education.

Rhodes, daughter of Michelle Templin, has been active in American Legion Auxiliary Girls State (county secretary and senator); Turning Point Dance Marathon (fundraising committee leader); Health Occupations Students of America (class representative); Student Council (secretary); National Honor Society; Spanish Honor Society; Key Club; East Girls' Tennis (team captain); Family, Career and Community Leaders of America; East Girls' Volleyball; and is a lifeguard and tennis instructor. Rhodes plans to study human biology.

Heritage Fund received 86 applications for this year's scholarships. Ten students were chosen for interviews by the Selection Committee. Finalists are: David Phan, Natalie Glaid and Reagan Perkins from Columbus East High School; Blake Shaffer from Columbus North High School; Alyssa Knight from Columbus Signature Academy - New Tech; Sydney Schoen and Sarah Tedder from Hauser High School; and Abigail Moses from Trinity Lutheran High School.

Scholarship applicants were evaluated on academic performance; scholastic activities, community involvement and employment; leadership; financial need; responses to short answer questions and a 450-word essay; and two recommendations.

The scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education. The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are:

  • To help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana

  • To increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities

  • To encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.

    ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 30 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state. Since the scholarship program began in 1998, 45 Bartholomew County students have been named Lilly Endowment Community Scholars, including Rhodes and Hasler. The endowment has awarded more than $3 million collectively to these scholars.