Northeastern Bartholomew County will have a new representative on the County Council come November.

Scott Bonnell won the Republican primary race over Marcus Speer in Tuesday's primary election with 1,127 votes to Speer's 908. Democrat Hanna Omar was unopposed in her primary election and will face Bonnell in the fall.

State Rep. Sean Eberhart won the Republican primary for the District 57 seat that includes northeastern Bartholomew County. He defeated Luke Campbell 64 to 36 percent district wide.

Four candidates will be on the ballot for the two at-large seats on the Hope Town Council. Incumbent Republican Clyde Compton, and Democrat incumbent Jerry Bragg will move to the November general election as well as Republican Lou "K." Kujawski and Chelsea Warriner. Because there are two seats available on the council, all four candidates will move on to the November general election.

In yesterday's primary voting, Warriner received 41 votes compared to Bragg's 32. While, Kujawski received 102 votes compared to Compton's 96.

There are three seats up for election on the Hawcreek Township Advisory Board, with only two Democrats and no Republicans filed to run for them. Democrats Kim Miller had 73 votes yesterday and Georgia C. McCarty had 71 votes.

Similarly the Flatrock Township Advisory Board has three open seats on the November ballot, and only two Republicans have filed, with no Democrats. Larry W. Hoeltke received 436 votes in the Republican primary while James A. Stevens received 301.

In countywide races, Bartholomew County Sheriff Matt Myers won his primary over challengers Rob Kittle and Tami Watson. Myers received 5,884 votes compared to Kittle's 1,710 and Watson's 1,597.

Other countywide races were unopposed, including Republicans running for:

  • Carl Lienhoop, county commissioner
  • Jim Worton, Superior Court 1 judge
  • Bill Nash, county prosecutor
  • Pia O'Connor, county auditor
  • Barb Hackman, county treasurer
  • Ginny Whipple, county assessor
  • Tami Hines, county recorder
  • Jay Phelps, county clerk

Greg Pence, a Columbus native and the brother of Vice President Mike Pence, won the Republican primary for the Sixth Congressional District seat that was formerly held by his brother. He will face Jeannine Lake, who won the Democratic primary for the open seat.

That seat is open because Republican Congressman Luke Messer decided not to seek re-election, instead running for the Republican nomination for the U.S. Senate. However, Mike Braun was the winner in that race, defeating Messer and northern Indiana congressman Todd Rokita. Braun will face Democratic Sen. Joe Donnelly in the November general election.