The Hope Town Council will remain largely unchanged, with three of the seats up for election this year. 

The filing period for the May primary election passed on Friday at noon, and all three incumbent Town Council members have filed for re-election. 

Town Councilman Ed Johnson, a Democrat, is unopposed for his Ward 1 seat, and Councilman Ohmer Miller, a Republican, is unopposed for his Ward 3 seat. In Ward 2, Councilwoman Nellie Meek, has no opponents in the May primary. But Republican Jon Walstad has filed to run against Meek in the fall. He also is unopposed in the May primary. 

In the countywide races on the ballot, local Republicans have several contested primary races, while Democrats did not field any candidates. 

Four candidates will be competing in the Republican primary to replace Judge Kitty Coriden on the bench of Bartholomew Superior Court 2 --  Scott Andrews, Dom Glover, Joe Meek and Jon Rohde. In his private practice, Andrews serves as the attorney for the town of Hope and for Flat Rock-Hawcreek schools. 

Republican voters will also be choosing three candidates for the three at-large seats on the County Council, with seven candidates vying for those seats. Incumbents Bill Lentz, Matt Miller and Evelyn Pence will be joined by Andrew Brunni, Laura DeDomenic, Derick Olson and Bill Read in the at-large race. DeDomenic already holds the District 2 seat on the council, representing most of Columbus and northwestern Bartholomew County, but wanted to run at-large so she could move out of her district.

In the race for District 3 on the County Commissioners, Commissioner Rick Flohr is not seeking re-election and three candidates have filed to take his seat -- Dan Arnholt, JoAnne Flohr and Tony London.

Other countywide races on the ballot include Bartholomew County Commissioner District 1 where Larry Kleinhenz is unopposed. Also unopposed are Coroner Clayton Nolting and Surveyor E.R. Gray.

In Indiana House District 57, which includes northeastern Bartholomew County, Republican Rep. Sean Eberhart of Shelbyville will be challenged in the primary by Edward K. Comstock II.