April 4, 2018 at 5:30 p.m.

Hope residents among those chosen for bicentennial torch honor

By HSJ Online [email protected]

Several Hope residents were among those chosen by the Indiana Bicentennial Commission to be torchbearers.

The list included Paul Ashbrook, Merrill Clouse, Carrie Harris, Don Strietelmeier and Brittany Young. Larry Simpson, former publisher of the Hope Star-Journal was selected among four posthumous torchbearers.

Mary McGuire of Hartsville was also chosen.

Although the torch will not pass through Hope, on its Sept. 18th trip through the county, it will stop at Hartsville and at Simmons Winery for festivities. The main Bartholomew County celebrations will be held on the plaza of the Bartholomew County Public Library's main branch in Columbus that day.

Bartholomew County torchbearers (* indicates posthumous award)

  • Paul Ashbrook

  • Susan Baute

  • Richard (Rick) Caldwell

  • Sarah Cannon

  • Merrill Clouse

  • Fred Darling

  • John Foster

  • Eugene Gurthet

  • Siddha Hall

  • Solomon Hall

  • Juanita Harden

  • Carrie Harris

  • Lucy"Dody" Harvey

  • Don Harvey

  • Jason Hatton

  • Susanna Jones*

  • Vickie Lowney*

  • John Martoccia

  • Cierra McCauley

  • Mary McGuire

  • Gregory Pence

  • Larry Perkinson

  • Ilya Schwartzman

  • Sam Simmermaker

  • Larry Simpson*

  • Robert Stewart*

  • Don Strietelmeier

  • William Stultz

  • Chuck Wells

  • April Williams

  • Brittany Young[[In-content Ad]]
  • HOPE