April 4, 2018 at 5:30 p.m.

Vote at 18 Bartholomew County Vote Centers today

By HSJ Online [email protected]

For the first countywide general election, Bartholomew County voters will cast their ballots at one of 18 vote centers arranged throughout the county, instead of at your familiar precinct.

The county went to the vote center concept last year, using the vote centers for the Columbus primary and general mayoral elections and for this May's countywide primary election. The concept is meant to save the county on costs by reducing the number of required poll workers and to add to the convenience for voters.

You can vote at any of the vote center locations throughout the day and your vote will be tallied for your neighborhood races.

The busiest vote center in the May primary was Grace Lutheran Church in Columbus which had 1,820 primary voters, while the least used was White Creek Lutheran Church in southern Bartholomew County, which had only 120 voters in May.

The closest center for most Hope residents would be the Hope Moravian Church, which had 961 voters in May. But other convenient locations can also be used including the Clifford Volunteer Fire Department, which had 465 May voters, or the Flintwood Wesleyan Church site on 25th Street in Columbus, which had 1,099.

Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. today.

Hope-area voters will be helping choose national, state and countywide races today.

Several races on the ballot are uncontested, with only one candidate on the ballot for the seat. That includes the three Hope Town Council seats, two seats on the Flat Rock-Hawcreek School board, the District 1 County Commissioner race and the race for Bartholomew Circuit Court Judge.

If you have any questions about voting today, you can call the Bartholomew County Voter Registration office at 812-379-1604.

Your ballot

On the ballot for Hope-area voters:

President/Vice President

Donald J. Trump/Michael R. Pence, R

Hillary Clinton/Tim Kaine, D

Gary Johnson/Bill Weld, L

U.S. Senator

Todd Young, R

Evan Bayh, D

Lucy Benton, L


Eric Holcomb/Suzanne Crouch, R

John R. Gregg/Christina Hale, D

Rex Bell/Karl "K-Tat" Tatgenhorst

Attorney General

Curtis Hill, Jr., R

Lorenzo Arrendodo, D

Superintendent of Public Instruction

Jennifer McCormick, R

Glenda Ritz, D

U.S. Representative, District 6

Luke Messer, R

Barry Welsh, D

Rich Turvey, L

State Representative District 57

Sean R. Eberhart, R

Circuit Court Judge

Kelly Benjamin, R


Clayton R. Nolting, R

Paula K. Rothrock, D


E.R. Gray, R

County Commissioner, District 1

Larry Kleinhenz, R

County Commissioner District 3

Rick Flohr, R

Brad Woodcock, D

County Council at-large

William "Bill" Lentz, R

Matt Miller, R

Evelen Strietelmeier Pence, R

Pam Clark, D

Lynne Fleming, D

Diane Hawes, D

Joshua Brown, L

Hartsville Clerk-treasurer

No Candidate Filed

Hartsville Town Council

Michael W. "Mike" Crull, R

Rex L. Dora, R

Steven Rucker, R

Lisa L. Hayes, D

Mark Imel, D

Jeremy Kimball, D

Hope Clerk-treasurer

Diane Burton, I

Hope Town Council Ward 1

Edward Johnson, D

Hope Town Council Ward 2

Nellie Meek, D

Hope Town Council Ward 3

Ohmer Miller, R

Flat Rock-Hawcreek School Corp. Flatrock District

Brian Rose

Flat Rock-Hawcreek School Corp. Hawcreek District

Steve Wilson

[[In-content Ad]]